Pause

by Cloud @ lifeofcloud.net

Okay, so I had a bit of a brief hiatus on my posting. I said I wouldn’t do this but you know how bad I am at following my own rules. I am a terrible influence on myself!

Let’s talk a bit more about FanExpo… On Saturday, I went dressed as X-23 from the Marvel series (she is a genetic clone of Wolverine). SO many people asked for a photo of me or with me! I honestly felt like a celebrity. It was my first time dressing up at a con and I’m totally glad I tried it out because I’m going to do it every year, now!

I didn’t put very much effort into this costume (it cost me 12 dollars to put together) so next time I dress up for a con, I will try to make my costume look a bit more impressive and I will also give harder costumes a shot! There are some pretty impressive costumes that you can buy online these days, but I worry about the repetition of  costumes purchased online. I picked X-23 because her costume was simple, effective, I have the hair&eyes to match her, it would require little planning in so short a time, and because it’s a character not many people do at cons. I saw one other X-23 there while I saw about 10 Poison Ivys or 20 Catwomen. I liked the uniqueness of my outfit and I LOVED when people shouted “OH MY GOD X-23!!” It was an exciting feeling. For a moment you feel like a celebrity because they are recognizing you IN character, just like some people see Will Smith and recognize him as the “Fresh Prince”. It was way too neat, I can’t describe the feeling. All I know is that I’d like to experience it again so I plan on making costume a yearly routine and I want to make a bit more impressive of a costume next time.

 

I don’t have much else to say. I had a very busy few days from Thursday onward to today and I’ve been running all over the place. Because of this, exhaustion sets in pretty quickly and my brain doesn’t function as it should. I was hoping to catch up on two missed days with a more meaningful post, but that will have to wait. I have graphic novels to read and sleep to steal.

 

Keep on smiling! Stay positive!
Much Love,
Claudia Amendola

